Meet Your Steering Committee: Jenesis Rose Long

_MG_3998

NACADA Steering Committee

Jenesis Rose Long, Communication Coordinator

 

What institution do you work for and what is your role there? 

I work for Oregon State University (OSU) as an Academic Counselor for the MAAPS Program. The MAAPS Program is a University Innovation Alliance (UIA) project that serves ~500 first-generation and Pell-eligible students through supplemental academic support.

 

Why did you get involved with NACADA? 

I got involved with NACADA to expand both my understanding of the profession and my network. I specifically decided to pursue the Communication Coordinator position for Region 8 because of my interest in technology and community building.

 

What are some of the projects you worked on during your time as Communication Coordinator on the steering committee? 

I’ve only been on the committee for a few months so far, but it seems like my work will include managing the blog posts (such as this one), monitoring the Facebook group, and publicizing activities related to the region to the members. I am also signed up to serve on two sub-committees that overlap with my interests in research and marketing.

 

How has being involved with NACADA helped you grow in your professional career? 

I have been involved with NACADA for about five years as a member and it has helped me grow as a professional by providing me with space to learn from and teach to my colleagues. I really enjoy presenting and learning through discussions so the conferences have been my favorite learning opportunity. Additionally, I find great value in relieving the NACADA journal to stay up to date on current conversations and issues in the field.

 

Please share a little about yourself and a fun fact. 

In addition to academic advising, I also really enjoy research and writing. Specifically, I have studied mentorship through a few different opportunities and am excited to share about the work my colleague, Kim McAloney and I have been engaged with for the last few years. Most recently, we shared about our Transformative Mentorship Model via the Oregon Women in Higher Education blog post here.  Additionally, I will share that I my ethnicity is Persian, and I love to cook and eat Persian food (kabob, rice, and stews), and am always looking for recommendations of good Persian restaurants in the PNW 🙂

Leave a comment