Change of Leadership in Region 8 – Letters from Kerry Thomas and Jeff Malone

Hello Region Eight (IS GREAT!),

I am honored to have served as your region chair for the past year. Due to personal circumstances, I have made the decision to step down from my role. Jeff Malone, Coordinator of Cross-Campus Initiatives & Advising at Oregon State University, will serve the remainder of my term as region chair.

You all are what has made my time as an advisor, a presenter, a state representative, and as region chair worthwhile. I am grateful for every lesson learned and relationship developed through my many years of involvement with our region. I am also glad for the professional development opportunities I have had the opportunity to help bring to our members across all of the amazing states and provinces in our region. I will miss you all dearly while I am on a brief hiatus from NACADA, but I look forward to returning and seeing you all at upcoming conferences in the very near future.

-Kerry Thomas

Hello, members of Region 8!

It is an honor to serve as Region Chair for the duration of Kerry Thomas’ elected tenure. I have worked within Region 8 since 2004 and my interactions with content and colleagues via NACADA have been central to my development as an advising professional. Before I go any further, I want to thank Kerry Thomas for all her work on behalf of students, advisors, and Region 8 (she is also an all-around outstanding campus colleague here at OSU). I will do my utmost not to derail any of the wonderful progress and structures that Kerry has put in place for the Region and its’ membership. The Region 8 Steering Committee members and I have already spoken several times and I am looking forward to the formal Region Chair trainings at the upcoming Annual Conference in St Louis.

A bit more about my background:

I have worked at Oregon State University since 2004. I currently serve as the Cross Campus Advising Coordinator. Previously, I was the Assistant Head Advisor in the University Exploratory Studies Program, OSU’s academic home for exploring/undecided students.  Prior to Oregon State, I worked in Student Life & Development as well as Student Orientation, Advising, & Registration at California State University Long Beach (CSULB).  I earned my MS in Counseling (Student Development in Higher Education) from CSULB, and a BA in Modern Literary Studies from the University of California, Santa Cruz.

My past involvement with NACADA include: Two terms as Oregon Liaison on the Region 8 Steering Committee, chairing the Region 8 Awards sub-committee (2010-2012), multiple conference presentations (at both the regional and national levels), serving as program chair for Regional Conferences (Honolulu, Vancouver, and Seattle), and roles as a reader and reviewer for various proposal pools and NACADA publications.

I look forward to working with you all to advance the great work of Region 8!

All the best,

Jeff

Leave a comment