Congratulations to our 2011 award winners!

The Region 8 leadership is proud to recognize the following individuals for their outstanding contribution to the field of academic advising. They exemplify the high quality of advising that goes on in the Northwest. The awards and certificates of merit will be presented at the Keynote Luncheon on March 11, 2011, in conjunction with the regional conference. We hope you will be in attendance to cheer on these fine individuals.


  • Institutional Administrator Award – Dr. Dana Thomas, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Advising Administrator Award – Dr. Jennifer Joslin, University of Oregon
  • Academic Advising Award – Karla Makus, Washington State University
  • Academic Advising Certificate of Merit – Janet Schichnes, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • New Advisor Award – Miranda Atkinson, University of Oregon
  • New Advisor Certificate of Merit – Bil Morrill, University of Oregon


If you know a deserving colleague who should be recognized for his or her outstanding work, it’s not too late to nominate them for an award on the national level. Until then, three cheers for this year’s Region 8 winners!



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s